Yesterday we traveled to St. Mary’s City, Maryland.  The journey took us down Routes, 3, 4 and 5 (I am not making this up), through some lovely countryside.  I love crossing the bridge at Solomons Island and looking down at the sparkling Patuxent River.  For once I wasn’t driving, so I had plenty of time to look around at county fair signs, little shops and front yards.

St. Mary’s City boasts a college and a historic area.  I’ll write about the historic area later, for a travel Hub.  I really liked the college; we ate lunch at the student center and walked around the campus a bit.  It’s lovely; we saw attractive brick buildings, colorful flowers and, best of all, students who really looked happy to be there.  My daughter declared it to be her “backup college” – she hasn’t picked a first-choice school, but we have a few years.  She’s 9.

We all enjoyed our day at Historic St. Mary’s City.  My son’s favorite part was (surprise!) the “gun show”; my daughter really liked the tobacco plantation, probably because farm animals live there.  I tried hard to take pictures of the pipefish and sea nettles (jellies) in the river, but I’m pretty sure I’ll end up with pictures of sparkly water instead.  The river water is so brackish that they usually have tons of sea nettles around the replica ship, Dove, I was told.

On the way home we traveled on Routes 5, 4 and 2, through gorgeously green horse country.  Sigh.

Read about our visit at my latest travel Hub.

